**Want to get promoted? Work on your people skills** (Part 2)

Businesses and technologies change, but human nature and human psychology has not changed much in thousands of years. Many managers have read or listened to the audio version of this “How to Win Friends & Influence People” book and said, “I wish I’d known these things and how to deal with people 20 years ago!” Yes, knowing and applying principles in this book will make your life a lot easier if you know how to manage and work with people.

People skills take time to develop, but it’s so worth the time and rewards are huge

Many people tell me I have good people skills. Five years ago, after I received my CA designation I realized my people/soft skills were seriously lacking. Since then, I have worked hard to develop my people skills. I attended numerous seminars, classes, and workshops on leadership, negotiation, communication, teamwork, etc., and read countless books. I have been able to apply my new skills on an ongoing basis in leadership roles I’ve taken. I’ve been a board member, chair and president of several professional forums and committees, and served on student council at my MBA school. A large part of my success is due to the fact I’ve mastered most of the skills in “How to Win Friends & Influence People”, and I’m still learning and applying these skills working with people!

People skills take time to develop and master, but it’s so worth the time and the rewards are huge.

Leave a Reply

