How I Wrote and Published 10 Books

I started writing at a young age. Growing up in Canada, since Grade 2 in elementary school we had Creative Writing class. I remember writing detective stories when I was only in Grade 2 and really enjoyed the creative writing process.

I remember when I was in Grade 9 high school, our English class teacher had us write journal for 10 minutes or so each class. She said we had to keep writing continuously. If we didn’t know what to write, we had to continue writing “I don’t know what to write. I don’t know what to write,” until we can think of something to write about.

I’ve been writing blog articles for over 10 years. In 2004, a friend introduced me to Xanga, a blog website. I really enjoyed writing articles on Xanga, especially on the things I studied in university and life. I studied interesting subjects such as Science, Food & Nutrition, Psychology, Philosophy, and enjoyed writing on those subjects.

In 2007, I joined Facebook, and continued writing articles on Facebook like I had previously done on Xanga. I was surprised how many people liked my posts by giving me a Facebook “thumb up”. I’d write about everything from life to travels to work to networking experiences to things I’ve read in books, and many other topics.

Then I discovered I can reach a worldwide audience through self-publishing on Amazon. It was like a dream come true! I’ve always dreamed of writing and publishing my own books, and my dream was becoming a reality!

My first book, “How to Increase Confidence and Succeed in Meeting People” was a short book on networking. I didn’t really have much expectation and didn’t really know what to expect when I published it on Amazon. I was surprised people actually downloaded my book and left positive reviews.

I learned that writing and finishing the book was only the beginning. There is a whole different process of book promotion that comes after the book is published. I spent the past month basically teaching myself Internet Marketing to promote my books. Even though I have a MBA degree I had no knowledge and no experience of promoting my books when I started. Now I start to see the results from what I’ve learned watching videos and reading how others have succeeded in marketing their books.

Throughout this learning process I’ve tweaked and modified my processes over and over and over again. I’ve made lots of mistakes and fixed them. There’s still a lot of things for me to learn, but I’m having a lot of fun and enjoy every moment of it!

Leave a Reply

